Paris Quartets

Paris Quartets

Genesis Chamber Series

22-25 June 2024

Warragul | Flinders | Melbourne

In his two volumes of Paris Quartets, Telemann distinguished himself as a master of the French Sonate en Quatuor; a uniquely French style that contrasted the trio sonatas of Germany and Italy. Telemann published his first volume of six quartets, Six Quadri, in 1730 in Hamburg, which were then reprinted in Paris in 1736.  In response to their enormous success in Paris, Telemann travelled to the city in 1737 for several months, where he received high praise and honour, inspiring him to write a second volume of six quartets, Nouveaux Quatuors en Six Suites, published in 1738. The collective title of Paris Quartets for which the two volumes of works are affectionately known, was only bestowed upon them in the second half of the 20th Century, in recognition of their incredible Parisian popularity.


Georg Philipp Telemann – Concerto Primo in G major from Six Quadri, TWV 43:G1
Georg Philipp Telemann – Sonata Seconda in G minor from Six Quadri, TWV 43:g1
Georg Philipp Telemann – Sonata Prima in A Major from Six Quadri, TWV 43:A1
Georg Philipp Telemann – Sixième Quatuor in E minor from Nouveaux Quatuors en Six Suites, TWV 43:e4


Meredith Beardmore – traverso
Jennifer Kirsner – baroque violin
Laura Vaughan – viola da gamba
Donald Nicolson – harpsichord


Saturday 22 June 2024, 2:30pm – Wesley of Warragul
Sunday 23 June 2024, 2pm – St John’s Anglican Church, Flinders
Tuesday 25 June 2024, 7:30pm – The Eleventh Hour, Fitzroy

Concert duration: 1 hour (no interval)

Purchase tickets